Toad World® Forums

Assigning categories according to prefixes of entities

Hi all,

I am working with a huge model (about 800 entities) and want to color the entities according to their prefixes, i.e., I want all entities with a given prefix to become red for example. I have figured out that using categories might help for this task. Unfortunately, the items in the Object tab in “Categories Properties” are not listed alphabetically which would be sufficient for my job.

Does anybody know a solution to this problem? I’d appreciate little script or at least the class hierachy and the name of the method to set a category for an entity.

Regards,
norbert

PS: I’m new to JScript and Visual Basic…

Class associations:
Model - Entities
Entity - Category

Model - Categories
Category - Objects

So you can go through your Model and for each Entity with the given prefix you can add a Category like this in JScript:
EntityObject.SetLinkedObject(“Category”, CategoryObject);

Good luck

Hello Norbert,

Just to let you know…

the items in the Object tab in “Categories Properties” are not listed alphabetically.

To list them alphabetically - a new CR has been created. CR # 46 244.

Thanks for your co-operation!

Regards,

Vladka

Thank you for your hint, Fero! Unfortunately, I don’t really know how to use it. So I’d like to ask you to correct the following wrong script:

function main(){

var i;
var Ent;

for(i=0; i<Model.Entities.Count; i++)
{
Ent = Model.Entities.GetObject(i);
if (Ent.Name.substring(0,4) == “pre_”){
Ent.SetLinkedObject(“pre”,CategoryObject)
}
}
}

Assume there already exists a catgegory called “pre” and the entities I want to add to “pre” have prefixes “pre_”.

I bet, the task is too hard for you.
Show me that I’m wrong

Regards,
norbert

Nice try Norbert!