Toad World® Forums

AutoCommit and data filter


#1

Hi,
I turned AutoCommitt off and altered table.
Then quitted Toad.

a. there was no warning that they are uncommitted changes!
b. basing on result - change WAS commited

c. filters I applied to data has been restored. Imho should be
reset to defaults - it’s very common way to “fix” problem:
switch off [application] then switch on :wink:


Butter


#2

Hello Motyl,

A,B. Do you execute alter table in Editor or using the dialog? In common,
AutoCommit option does not affect the DOE (Dialog Object Editor), AutoCommit
option applies only to Editor. So , if you execute alter table using the dialog
then changes apply without commit question and that is why there is no warning
when you quit TSS.

C. I’ve investigated issue about filters. It is correct behavior that TSS
does not reset filters to default after altering table operation. If you want to
see all data from table, you can remove filter manually.

Thanks,

Anastasia
image001.jpeg


#3

Hello Motyl,

A,B. Do you execute alter table in Editor or using the dialog? In common,
AutoCommit option does not affect the DOE (Dialog Object Editor), AutoCommit
option applies only to Editor. So , if you execute alter table using the dialog
then changes apply without commit question and that is why there is no warning
when you quit TSS.

C. I’ve investigated issue about filters. It is correct behavior that TSS
does not reset filters to default after altering table operation. If you want to
see all data from table, you can remove filter manually.

Thanks,

Anastasia
image001.jpeg


#4

Hello Motyl,
A,B. Do you execute alter table in Editor or using the dialog? In common,
AutoCommit option does not affect the DOE (Dialog Object Editor), AutoCommit
option applies only to Editor. So , if you execute alter table using the dialog
then changes apply without commit question and that is why there is no warning
when you quit TSS.

I did it via DOE. Imho you should add warning for such cases:

  • when user is changing ‘AutoCommit’ mode
  • when somebody alters objects with DOE and AutoCommit is switch off.

C. I’ve investigated issue about filters. It is correct behavior that TSS does
not reset filters to default after altering table operation. If you want to see
all data from table, you can remove filter manually.

after altering - it is ok. But it keeps filter settings after application
restart.


Butter


#5

Hello Motyl,

A.B. I’ve create ER 82124 about AutoCommit option with suggestion to add advanced information in Help ‘Commit and Roll Back Changes’ topic.

c. Filter in Data Grid does not reset after restarting TSS. This is feature of TSS, some users like when filter does not reset to default.

Thanks,
Anastasia