Toad World® Forums

Best Practices for PK/FK naming and autogeneration

I am new to TDM3 but have been doing data modeling for many years (with Oracle Designer 10+ yrs.)

I am now working at a place that is using MySQL and may move to Oracle some day. So I said “Let’s use TOAD!”.

My problem: We will be using Java and Hibernate to connect to the database. The Java/Hibernate expert says the standard he is expecting is that the PK for every lookup table will be called ID and when it appears as FK in a child table it should be named _ID. This means a) the FK and the PK that it is based on are not named identically to each other b) WHERE clauses are written like this: where tablename_id = tablename.id and of course this means c) auto transfer of PK to child table in modeling tool is not so automatic any more.

Has anyone else ever seen this Java standard? Can I trick TDM3 into doing this without manually creating and reattaching every FK to a new column?

Is there a generation option that makes this possible?

Please help.

Hello,

Thanks very much for raising this issue. Firstly, we need to discuss this issue in our team. If I have more questions or as soon as I have some news for you, I’ll write.
Thanks for your patience!

Nevertheless, at the moment, we can offer you only a script that would rename the PK and FK attributes at one jump.
PK attributes would be called ID and FK attributes would be named _ID.
Just one question - what if you have more attributes in a PK. How do you name them? Entity can’t have two attributes of the same name ID…

Please write us if you are interested to have the script + some details so as the script would meet your requirements.
Thanks in advance.

Looking forward to your reply.

Regards,

Vladka + TDM Team

Thanks for your prompt response.

regarding your question:

what if you have more attributes in a PK. How do you name them?