Ctrl Key Behavior

I hope it is not too troublesome for me to ask a few really basic questions. I apologize.

In an editor window, when the moue cursor is in a word and I press the Ctrl key, the whole word gets a pink background, which disappears when I release the Ctrl key. What is Toad indicating with this behavior?

While in an editor window, the processes at the bottom of the screen includes a small panel with what appears to be a button of sorts. Before I do anything, the button is grey. After I run queries or scripts, for the rest of the edit window’s life, shile the Prg is busy that button is grey, and while it is idle the button is red. What is this indicating?

I managed to associate opening a Master/Detail report with Ctrl+Alt+M. But I cannot find an “Open Edit Window” action to associate with a short-cut combo. Is there a way, with the keyboard, to open a new Edit window?

Thank you for indulging me. I am new to Toad (6 months), and want to become more proficient.

You can click on an identifier while holding CTRL to jump to it or describe it. See the Ctrl + Click options on the Editor|Code Assist page in Options.

The red/gray indicator is the grid state indicator. Gray - Data grid is not active. Red - Data grid is active and read-only. Green - Data grid is active and read-write.

You can assign a shortcut for the Editor in Options on the Toolbars/Menus|Shortcuts page. Assign a shortcut to the Editor command. It’s in the Database category.

Michael

Hi Brian,

following up on what Mike said…

The icon will be grey (I’m in the UK - that’s how we spell it, correctly!!!) [;)] whenever you have executed a SQL statement or a PL/SQL statement in the editor, and no results grid is produced. Something like “CREATE TABLE …;” or “EXEC somePackage.someProcedure();”.