Find and replace bug in 6.4

I work as a DBA and part of my job is to migrate code from user’s schema’s to various development and production schemas. This means you use the find and replace feature a lot. The objective is to find the user’s schema name and replace it with the schema name the code is being migrated to.

Find username, replace with qaservername.
Nav finds username
Click find again to find the next place in the code that has username
nav finds username
At the end of the proc, nav will display a popup - reached end of file. contineu search from the top?

But sometimes this message box will display behind the find and replace box. Consequently you can’t click the yes button.

The confirmation box has focus and you can’t do anything. This makes DBA’s very angry with quest software.

FIX IT !

This issue may have been reported before: see here.

Unfortunately, it seems like there was never a formal fix for it.

Hi Dominique and Henry,

We attached importance to fixing this issue after we got the first report. We have been seeking for sulotions and verifying the outcomes for a long time. It’s tricky due to the limitation of the development component that we use for find&replace. We have tried to improve in 6.5 and so far our internal QA couldn’t reproduce the issue. We keep eyes on this when we’re using Nav as well. Could you please let us know that whether you found this issue in latest 6.5 beta?

Thanks,
Vincent

yes it exists in 6.5…

Sometimes you have to edit the same proc a couple of times.