Toad World® Forums

How to test tables and views?

Hi, I’m new to QCT. I was wondering how to test the behaviour of tables and views.
As far as I understand QCT so far, such tests are only possible within a wrapper procedure? Is that correct? Any suggestions, experiences testing tables and views are appreciated. Thank you.

You are right. You cannot directly “test” a table or view - though I am not even sure what that would mean.

You test the impact on a table or view of running a particular program. So you define a test on, say, procedure ABC. ABC itself modifies the table. You then create dataset tests for ABC.

SF

Wow, that was a very fast answer! Thank you. To give you more insight, here are some ideas that I have in mind regarding table and view testing:

• Verify that table check constraints work as you expect to: allowing good data in and keeping bad data out.
  • Verify that triggers work as expected, that they i.e. write correctly into history tables.
  • Verify FK behaviour and making sure that allowed data constellations can be inserted/deleted while undesired data constellations are failing as expected.
  • Prepare tables with certain data and verify that a view returns an expected result.
  • Testing response times of queries on views and making sure they won’t exceed a defined limit.
  • Just test validity of views or objects in general (via data dictionary).
  • Test if certain required values are in a table.
  • Compare table, view and/or query result sets directly, maybe also between different schemas.
  • Verify that table check constraints work as you expect to: allowing good data in and keeping bad data out.

You will need a procedure to perform the desired DML. Then create dataset tests to validate correct behavior.

• Verify that triggers work as expected, that they i.e. write correctly into history tables.

See above.