Toad World® Forums

logical-to-physical conversion and parent/grandparent keys

Hello,

I am new to formal data modeling and TDM. Excuse me if I am asking a simple question.

I create a Logical model with a few entities, with simple one-attribute primary indices. And I declare some of them to have one-to-many relationships.

Where there is a hierarchy of relationships, I get a behavior I am surprised by when trying a Logical-to-Physical conversion (I chose SQLServer 2005).

Physical tables created as a child in a relationship hierarchy are given not only the parent entity’s primary key as a column, but also the parent’s parent’s primary key (and parent’s grandparent, if applicable, etc.)

Is this a natural result of formal data modeling?
Or is it a part of this tool?

Can I influence this behavior in the tool?

Thanks!

Hello,

It depends on what relationship type you have between the entities.

Identifying relationship - PFK attributes are created in PER model.
Non-identifying relationship - FK attributes are created in PER model.

Please find attached a doc with some examples on how it works in TDM.

In any case, please have a look at the Help file, Index tab and type Foreign keys. See other related topics - Relationship Types, LER to PER conversion etc.

If you have any questions, please write me back.
Thanks.

Regards,

Vladka
MigrationOfKeys.pdf (199 KB)

Thanks for your message.

I do see how the Identifying vs Non-Identifying relationship impacts the conversion.

I think I also see the logic of what happens–

I believe that for each relationship, the Primary Key field or fields of the Left side are copied into the Right.
 Then, if the relationship is Identifying, those Foreign Key fields in the Right side are combined (along with any Unique Identifier defined in the LER) to form the Primary Key of the Right side entity.
 When this is repeated through a chain of relationships, the "key migration" effect is seen.