Toad World® Forums

Maybe it's because I'm a novice?

Having reverse engineered the model…

the application view shows

RE:MS SQL Server 2005

This is essentially useless because I end up with several models all the same name… How do I go about renaming the model? I’d also like to rename the workspace? so I could perhaps segment the model into areas

And - as a wibni. ( wouldn’t it be nice if)

Could we at least show the primary and foreign keys in the boxes
and perhaps have an option to change the defauilt display when doble-clicking on an entity? Currently it goes to General - and I’d like it to default to attributes.

Of course, this could be there alreay - in which case I apologise…

Regards

Mike

How do I go about renaming the model? I’d also like to rename the workspace? so I could perhaps segment the model into areas

You can rename models and workspaces by clicking on the named item twice (not double clicking) similar to the way Windows explorer works. Once the name is highlighted in the box, you can type over it.

Could we at least show the primary and foreign keys in the boxes
and perhaps have an option to change the defauilt display when doble-clicking on an entity?

Maybe I misunderstand. The primary and foreign keys are indicated in the tables, both by color and with an annotation of (PK) or (FK) after the attribute name if you have the entity view set to anything other than ‘Entity’. Select View | Display Level and select attributes. That will show all of the entity’s attributes and the PK and FK fields. Similarly, if you go to View | Toolbars and turn on the Workspace details menu, there will be a dropdown for you to change the WS display details. If you are a novice, you might want to open the help and search for ‘Notation’. That will show you examples of what all of the boxes, lines and colors mean. It’s pretty standard data modelling fare.