Toad World® Forums

plsql profiler

some questions (i’m somewhat new to using profiler)

1. in the tree, when i’ve selected a certain run, the packages/procedures/triggers/anonymous blocks are displayed. In what order are the objects displayed? it seems completely random (well, maybe not completely, most timetaking seem mostly to be on top and less timetaking mostly later, but not in exact order definitely).
  2. in the tree, some triggers are displayed 2, 3 or even more times (up to 11 times, in the particular case) not in the row, but for example, “biu trigger, then bu trigger then aud trigger” three times, then some packages, a couple of other table triggers and then again “biu trigger, bi trigger, ai trigger, biu trigger, bu trigger, aud trigger, biu trigger, bu trigger, aud trigger”. all trigger on the same table. (bu = before insert, aud = after update or delete etc)
  3. this is sloooow. It takes more than a minute to see the details (#of executeble lines = 25585, # of covered lines = 2996, # of packages = 42, # of triggers = 76 (actual much less, as triggers seem to be counted many times)) and every click on the package takes (depending of the size of it) couple of seconds to tens of seconds.
    when clicking on the run, sql monitor shows a lot of activity, and most of the time seems to go reading packages? what’s in there? why the need to go in there?
    Example from sql monitor:

Timestamp: 12:14:24.142
SELECT LINE, TEXT FROM ALL_SOURCE WHERE name=‘WWV_FLOW’ AND owner = ‘FLOWS_030100’ AND type = ‘PACKAGE BODY’ ORDER BY LINE

Timestamp: 12:14:36.861
SELECT HASH FROM SQLN_PROF_UNIT_HASH WHERE RUNID = 21 AND UNIT_NUMBER = 21

12 seconds reading an apex package body (the profiler was started and stopped in an apex session)?