Toad World® Forums

Resource considerations

I’m new to the Optimizer and I’ve been doing a bit of experimenting to get familiar with it. In some of my experiments I’ve run the same SQL in different databases for comparison.

In some cases, the scenario recommended from the execution in the development database is not the same as the one recommended when executed in the production database.

The databases are identical in structure, the only difference is in the size. That tells me that for this to be useful, I need to execute it in our production database. With serious SQL, the optimizer can run for a long time, but I don’t know what it is doing on the server. Should I be concerned about the resources used by the optimizer? I don’t want to drag down performance.

Hi Roddy,

It is true that optimizing SQL sometimes can be challenging. In particular, you would need to execute a SQL to tell the actual performance of it.

One suggestion is to have a development database that can simulate as much as possible the production database. Some lucky users they have the resource to create a development database from the full backup of the production database. However, most users would be like you whose database size is smaller that the production database. If this is the case, it is important to have proportional data volume in the development database. For example, if you have 1,000,000 and 1,000 records in TableA and TableB in your production database, then it would be better to have 100,000 and 100 records in TableA and TableB in the development database than to have 100,000 records in both tables. Keeping the data volume proportional helps getting consistent performance across production and development databases.