how to provide all the parameters in order to connect to DB2

Hello all, I am new to DB2 and Toad, I have Toad Free Version 4.6.2.573, DB2 v9.5.0.0, “AIX6495”, and Fix Pack “0”.

I can login to db2 through putty, I dont’ know what values I should provide in Toad when connect:

Database Alias
Node Name
Authentication
Host Name (Should I use the name when I use putty to log in? When I use ifconfig in the box I get a different ip)
Instance name
TCP/IP port number
Enable SOCKS Security (Ture/False)

I have full access to db2, I just don’t know where I can get those values. Thanks for any suggestions!

btw, I do NOT want to touch anything for the existing DB, I just want to connect it using toad so that I can run SQL query against it. If there is other ways/software can achieve this it’s also okay.

Hi,

You can use the Client Configuration Wizard to create a new connection to a database. You’ll need the host name, port number, database name, user id and password. The same information you use for putty.

You can do this by opening the Connection Manager, then launch the connection wizard, catalog your database, then use the dropdown in the connection manager to connect to your database.

Regards,
Adam

Adam,

Thank you for your reply. When you say: catalog the database, what does that mean? What’s the effect for the DB, will that affect any existing application or performance for the DB?

Thanks,
Newbiec

Hi Newbiec,

Toad for DB2 installs a DB2 client from IBM. Cataloging a database provides the DB2 client with the information it needs to communicate with the database. It only effects the machine where Toad is installed.

Regards,
Adam

So if I have existing toad client for the same db, cataloging won’t affect those clients, right? I searched the web and there are two commands, which one should I use?

Catalog the DB2 server node
To catalog the DB2 server node, enter the following command:
db2 catalog tcpip node db2node remote hostname server service_name