Is my cross connection left join supported?

Hi I’m new to Toad using Toad Data Point 3.8.1.677 Base Edition. I have created a cross connection query using one MS Access 2010 table and three DB2 tables. When I make them all inner joins my query works fine. When I switch one join (between Access and one DB2 table) to a left join, I get an error “[Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Drive] JOIN expression not supported”.

In the interest of full disclosure, the join uses a substring of the DB2 field per snippet below (real DB names masked). However this join works fine when it is an inner join, so that doesn’t appear to be the issue.

MyDB2Database.TB_DIM_PRD_PKG DPP

LEFT JOIN MyAccessDatabase.tbDIM_ExtHP_Market_Segment DIM

on RIGHT(DPP.PKG_NM,5) = DIM.BPL

Does my version of Toad support this type of join? I don’t want to waste more time tweaking syntax if it is simply not supported. Thanks for any comments :wink:

hi BoulderRidge,

I believe MS access DB engine has specific rules in terms of inner joins combined with outer joins.

Could you please read the following solution and let me know if that helps?

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/28685674/left-join-sql-join-expression-not-supported

Martin

Hi Martin,
First thank you so much for promptly responding to my question with helpful info. Sorry I didn’t get time to post a detailed reply sooner.

I did try nesting the left join inside an inner join and it did not work. It is possible I didn’t construct the nesting correctly, as I typically don’t nest my joins and the DB2 tables cannot be joined in a linear sequence since one is a fact table and the two dimension tables must both join to the fact table.

I also tried it with the inner join criteria in the Where clause (i.e. FROM Table1, Table2, Table3, Table 4 Where Table 1.key = Table2.key etc.) but had to keep the Left join in the FROM clause and again that combination failed.