Defining a variable using a CASE Statement

I am trying to define a variable at the beginning of my script which will be used several places within the script. If it is Monday I need the date of the Friday before and otherwise I need yesterday's date. The date needs to be in the format YYYYMMDD. I am doing the select &prevDateS just to see that the variable is correct. It is failing with the errors below. Can you help me to get this correct please. I am new to TOAD and trying to generate working scripts.

DEFINE prevDateS = TO_CHAR(SYSDATE-(CASE RTRIM(TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'day')) when 'monday' THEN 3 ELSE 1 END ), 'yyyymmdd') ;
select &prevDateS from DUAL;

--- ERROR---
old: select &prevDateS from DUAL
new: select TO_CHAR(SYSDATE-(CASE from DUAL

select TO_CHAR(SYSDATE-(CASE from DUAL

Error at line 2
ORA-00907: missing right parenthesis

Here you go:

DEFINE prevDateS
column newday new_value prevDateS noprint
select TO_CHAR(SYSDATE-(CASE RTRIM(TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'day')) when 'monday' THEN 3 ELSE 1 END ), 'yyyymmdd') newday from dual;
select &&prevDateS from DUAL;

Cheers,
Russ

Thanks Russ

When I put in your solution, I get the screen below. I do not want to enter the dates at each step as this is an automated process

image001.png

You need to use '&&' instead of just '&'.

Here is what I've got:

set verify off
set feed off
set heading off
def prevdates = 'placeholder'
column prevday new_value prevdates noprint
select TO_CHAR(SYSDATE-(CASE RTRIM(TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'day')) when 'monday' THEN 3 ELSE 1 END ), 'yyyymmdd') prevday from dual;
select &&prevdates from DUAL;

This isolates the resulting value in the output. You must be sure to use double-ampersand and not just single.

Cheers,
Russ

Hi Russ

Still no data. The entire query is below

set verify off

set heading off

set pagesize 0

set linesize 1200

set echo off

set termout off

set trimspool on

set blanklines on

set feedback off

set trimout off

set embedded off

SPOOL C:/users/bonnerm1/Charges_Prod_1.txt