How do I get multiple data records from a query using variables

I am new to TOAD and Oracle. This is SQL code, How do I do this in TOAD to get the result set and without the popup window which ask for a value input. This process will run daily to extract data, so flexibility is needed with the dates.

DECLARE @tempdate datetime

SET @tempdate = (SELECT case when DATEPART(dw,GETDATE()) = 2 then dateadd(dd,-3,getdate() )

else dateadd(dd,-1,getdate() )

End

)

Select * from ABC.TRAN where ENTRYDATE = @tempdate

I was able to come up with this so far. I am very new to TOAD and Oracle and need to have this done for a project.

DECLARE tempdate DATE;

BEGIN

SELECT case when (SELECT RTRIM(to_char(sysdate,‘day’)) from dual) = ‘monday’
then TRUNC(SYSDATE) -3
Else SYSDATE -1
End
into tempdate
FROM dual;

SELECT * from ABC.TRAN where ENTRYDATE = tempdate;

END;

I am getting the error
ORA-06550: line 12 column 1: PLS-00428: an INTO clause is expected in this SELECT statement

on the line

I need to generate the output to screen and also to a (|) delimited file.

If you want Toad to export data to a delimited file, then you should be creating SQL, not PL/SQL (It’s PL/SQL if it starts with DECLARE or BEGIN).

You don’t need to use a variable. You can just put the code that you are using to get the variable into your query.

Also you don’t need to select sysdate from dual. You can just specify sysdate.

Try this in the editor, and use F9 to run it.

select *
from ABC.TRAN
where ENTRYDATE = case when RTRIM(to_char(sysdate,‘day’)) = ‘monday’
then TRUNC(SYSDATE) -3
else SYSDATE -1
end;

Assuming this produces a result, to export to delimited text, right-click in the grid below and choose “Export Dataset”. Then you can change export format to “Delimited text” and the rest should be self explanatory.

Hi Mara_b,