Left join works, but inverse does not?

Hi All,

I’m new to data point, so I appreciate the help.

I’ve been familiarizing myself with cross-database queries, and was successful in creating a simple query like:

Select *

from DB_A.Schema_A.Table_A A

left outer join DB_B.Schema_B.Table_B B on A.Column_1=B.Column_2

The results return in 2-3 min

However when I do the inverse

Select *

from DB_B.Schema_B.Table_B B

left outer join DB_A.Schema_A.Table_A A on B.Column_2=A.Column_1

It ran for hours before I finally cancelled, some data loaded so I know it worked… (also tried the Right join on the first query above)

before I launch a full IT investigation, is there anything wrong with my joins or common pitfalls I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance

Hi Brian,

on first look your queries don’t look like complicated but you never know what exactly happen in background. For investigating this you can use Explain plan which should help you with comparing difference between steps in both queries. Let me know if it helps.

Filip