Toad World® Forums

Restore Database - Overwrite option does not auto-select file paths

In SSMS if you restore a database (choose a .bak file) and then under options
turn on the replace option, the file paths are assumed to be the same as the
files you are overwriting.

With Toad, if you do the same thing, the file paths are not updated:

…and the restore doesn’t work:

Fails with error: the system cannot find the file specified

Hopefully this can be fixed with the next cycle… I’m trying to get
it to the point where I don’t need SSMS to do daily activities.

Darren

image007.jpeg

image005.png
image007.jpeg

Hey Darren, I reported this back in the late summer, glad to see if you can
reproduce it.

Gita, what is the status of this and other issues around Restore ?

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)
image007.jpeg

Hey Darren, I reported this back in the late summer, glad to see if you can
reproduce it.

Gita, what is the status of this and other issues around Restore ?

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)

Hey Darren, I reported this back in the late summer, glad to see if you can
reproduce it.

Gita, what is the status of this and other issues around Restore ?

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)
image002.jpeg

Hey Darren, I reported this back in the late summer, glad to see if you can
reproduce it.

Gita, what is the status of this and other issues around Restore ?

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)
image001.gif

Hi guys,

We do remember this request. New button was implemented on the Destination tab
of Restore Database dialog – Set Database Default Path. You can see it on
the first beta build when it is available.

By this button, Toad sets default path for new databases defined on this
Server\Instance.

Darren, I hope it is cover your scenario or you have something more on this?

regards,

Alexander Maximov
image007.jpeg

Hi guys,

We do remember this request. New button was implemented on the Destination tab
of Restore Database dialog – Set Database Default Path. You can see it on
the first beta build when it is available.

By this button, Toad sets default path for new databases defined on this
Server\Instance.

Darren, I hope it is cover your scenario or you have something more on this?

regards,

Alexander Maximov

Hi guys,

We do remember this request. New button was implemented on the Destination tab
of Restore Database dialog – Set Database Default Path. You can see it on
the first beta build when it is available.

By this button, Toad sets default path for new databases defined on this
Server\Instance.

Darren, I hope it is cover your scenario or you have something more on this?

regards,

Alexander Maximov
image001.gif

Hi guys,

We do remember this request. New button was implemented on the Destination tab
of Restore Database dialog – Set Database Default Path. You can see it on
the first beta build when it is available.

By this button, Toad sets default path for new databases defined on this
Server\Instance.

Darren, I hope it is cover your scenario or you have something more on this?

regards,

Alexander Maximov
image002.jpeg

Hi guys,

We do remember this request. New button was implemented on the Destination tab
of Restore Database dialog – Set Database Default Path. You can see it on
the first beta build when it is available.

By this button, Toad sets default path for new databases defined on this
Server\Instance.

Darren, I hope it is cover your scenario or you have something more on this?

regards,

Alexander Maximov
image006.jpeg

That button is great, will save me time on restores of new databases.

But it won’t work to solve this particular problem.

If a user mounts a database to some other path on this computer, then when
restoring another file chooses the option to Overwrite existing database, that
button should actually be disabled or just not do anything because when the
“To database” exists, with the “Overwrite existing
database” option set to true the only files that matter are the ones
already mounted.

Darren
image007.jpeg

That button is great, will save me time on restores of new databases.

But it won’t work to solve this particular problem.

If a user mounts a database to some other path on this computer, then when
restoring another file chooses the option to Overwrite existing database, that
button should actually be disabled or just not do anything because when the
“To database” exists, with the “Overwrite existing
database” option set to true the only files that matter are the ones
already mounted.

Darren
image002.jpeg

That button is great, will save me time on restores of new databases.

But it won’t work to solve this particular problem.

If a user mounts a database to some other path on this computer, then when
restoring another file chooses the option to Overwrite existing database, that
button should actually be disabled or just not do anything because when the
“To database” exists, with the “Overwrite existing
database” option set to true the only files that matter are the ones
already mounted.

Darren
image006.jpeg

That button is great, will save me time on restores of new databases.

But it won’t work to solve this particular problem.

If a user mounts a database to some other path on this computer, then when
restoring another file chooses the option to Overwrite existing database, that
button should actually be disabled or just not do anything because when the
“To database” exists, with the “Overwrite existing
database” option set to true the only files that matter are the ones
already mounted.

Darren

That button is great, will save me time on restores of new databases.

But it won’t work to solve this particular problem.

If a user mounts a database to some other path on this computer, then when
restoring another file chooses the option to Overwrite existing database, that
button should actually be disabled or just not do anything because when the
“To database” exists, with the “Overwrite existing
database” option set to true the only files that matter are the ones
already mounted.

Darren
image001.gif

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)
image006.jpeg

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)
image005.jpeg

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)
image001.gif

Hank Freeman

Senior Systems, Database/Data Warehouse Architect

hfreeman@msn.com

678.414.0090 my cell Primary

Hank.Freeman50 (Skype)
image007.jpeg