Toad newbie with EXISTS question

Please forgive my naivety, I’m an Oracle SQL newbie using Toad. I have a table with claims records, DDIS.PTS_MV_CLM_STAT. It has records of individuals (by CLM_SSN) the date of a service(CLM_SERV_STRT) and the service delivered (by CLM_COST_CTR_NBR``). It’s an Mview actually of other tables with final sales status in it.

I am trying to construct a query to return CLM_SSN, CLM_SERV_STRT, CLM_COST_CTR_NBR, CLM_RECV_AMT if there is a service on the same day for that individual for both CLM_COST_CTR_NBR=A and CLM_COST_CTR_NBR=B if between CLM_SERV_STRT 7/1/2013 and 7/31/2013. If this condition exists I want both records returned. I assume the two records would be on separate rows.

I’ve been researching IN, EXISTS, and sub queries but have yet to strike upon the right approach. The table has about 7 million records on it so I need something fairly efficient. I’ve got hte following but it is not restricting it to just the two values in the WHERE statement. I’m getting all records for that time frame. Where am I going wrong?

SELECT CLM_SSN, CLM_SERV_STRT, CLM_COST_CTR_NBR, CLM_RECV_AMT

FROM DDIS.PTS_MV_CLM_STAT mv

WHERE EXISTS (SELECT 1 FROM DDIS.PTS_MV_CLM_STAT ItemA WHERE TRIM(ItemA.CLM_COST_CTR_NBR) = ‘5P311’

AND TRUNC(ItemA.CLM_SERV_STRT) = TRUNC(mv.CLM_SERV_STRT))

AND EXISTS (SELECT 1 FROM DDIS.PTS_MV_CLM_STAT ItemB WHERE TRIM(ItemB.CLM_COST_CTR_NBR) = ‘6R641’

AND TRUNC(ItemB.CLM_SERV_STRT) = TRUNC(mv.CLM_SERV_STRT))

AND mv.CLM_SERV_STRT BETWEEN TO_DATE (‘01-07-2013’,‘dd-mm-yyyy’)

AND TO_DATE (‘31-07-2013’,‘dd-mm-yyyy’)

ORDER BY CLM_SSN, CLM_SERV_STRT

Thanks everyone

The first thing is, this really is something that would be better thrown to Oracle or a DBA/Developer within your company familiar with the tables/data, since
it’s not really a Toad specific question, but I can try to give you some ideas…