Create a new table using select

Hi group,

I am new to Toad. I want to create a new table in my database by using SELECT command to extract data from a existing table. The query is structured as below:
Create TABLE test AS (
SELECT *
FROM mydb.tablename)

When I tried to execute this query Toad prompt an error message " Failed ParseException cannot recognize input near SELECT * FROM in column specification"

Not sure why this query won't work in Toad.

Hmmm, this syntax should work, assuming that you are specifying your source table with the correct schema name, etc.

What happens if you remove the parentheses altogether? ... e.g.

Create TABLE test AS 
SELECT * FROM mydb.tablename

Hi Gary,

Thanks for the help. I figured out what the problem was. Now that I have created a new table using the CREATE TABLE AS .. SELECT method. How do I change the datatype? Right now each column is set to string, I will need to change some cols to INT and VARCHAR. Is there any way I could edit them in Toad?

You cannot change the type of a column. There are two routes you can go, both rely on your character columns being able to convert without error

Base_table ( id varchar2(10));

Create another table with id having the correct type and insert the old records:
NEW_TABLE(ID NUMBER)
Insert into new_table(id) select id from base_table;

Another method is to add a column and update it:
alter table base_table rename column id to id_orig;
alter table base_table add (id number);
update base_table set id = id_orig;

1 Like

Appreciate Brian chiming in here... if you're wondering, Joe, why you can't simply change the datatype for the existing column with Toad's table editor (or otherwise), it's because Oracle won't let you change the datatype on the fly for a column/table that already has data in it. Brian outlined a couple of good solutions.

1 Like

Good Morning all,

Hi Joe.

Your source table must have had its columns defined as VARCHAR2 if the new table has the same.