Data browser functionality

Since I’m new to TSS, consider this a question first and a feature request assuming my suspicion that this is indeed not currently in TOAD.

My use case is that I often get “Why am I seeing X?” or “Why is my application doing Y?” functionality, where X and Y are dependent on data in the database. The diagnostics to answer these come from what I would call data exploration. This is typically done by making repeated sequential queries, where the outputs of one query lead to inputs on the next query. It is NOT exactly Data Analysis (i.e. reporting or analytics aren’t the goal) but I’ve addressed this in the past via use of the data browser, repeated SQL statements (a somewhat slow approach), coupled with some degree of low-level automation.

What I’m fishing for is a tool that allows free-form browsing of data. The input to this hypothetical tool would be an ER/data diagram showing all the table relationships. The action would be to start browsing at a selected table, and:

• Next to any parent key field, there is a “+” to expand the appropriate relationship to the related records in the child table.
  • Next to any child key field, there is a “up arrow” or similar symbol to navigate to the parent row in the related
  • The data would be retrieved on demand based on clicks on the icons above. The user could open the results in a new tab or replace the current tab.
  • If there are multiple possible parent tables or child tables possible for a given column, there would be multiple such icons, which would be identified by hovering over them.

It seems like the pieces are mostly there already:

• The basis for this would be the existing data browser.