Navigation confusion

I am new to Toad for Data Analysts but have used Toad for Oracle.

I’m finding the navigation of the windows very confusing, I think there must be a paradigm shift I haven’t made.

I am trying to browse tables (Oracle tables) using 2 different connections. When I am in one of the connections I have 2 tabs (under Object Details) for 2 different tables. When I switch connections (via the dropdown at the top of the screen), and I double click on a table (in the Object Explorer) it displays the table details in a tab (Viewer Table) next to the Object Details tab. Not under the Object details table where I’d expect it. I can’t seem to get 2 more tables in separate tabs for the other connection.

I’ve looked in the documentation and watched the 5 min videos, but nothing seems to explain this Object Detail tab.

I’m using the Toad for Oracle setup from the Configuration Wizard.

Is there something I should read to get a better understanding of how to navigate objects?

Thanks…

Yes. There are some paradigm shifts.

Let me see if I can answer your question first before I explain the shift.

To view a table there are three different viewers, each with a little different behavior.

Table Viewer

When you double click on a table in the Object Explorer it opens up a table viewer on the right. This is a single table viewer. When you change connections it will not create an additional viewer, but display the currently focused table. This sounds like the behavior that you do not want.

Database Browser

If you go to the Tools Menu and choose Database Browser you will get an window that has an Object Explorer and Viewer together in one window. Every time you click on this menu you will get a new Database Browser and each can be using different connections. Or you can change your connection to that window by using the drop down in the bottom right of the application or connection toolbar. This window is very similar to Toad for Oracle’s Browser.

Object Details