Equivalent commands for Oracle SQL

Hi group,

I’m taking a short intro course in SQL (yes, I’m kind of new to writing SQL commands). Today I’m learning about “Transaction Processing” (BEGIN TRANSACTION, SAVE TRANSACTION, IF @@ERROR, COMMIT TRANSACTION). The course suggests to check with the DBMS to see if it uses these commands.

I’ve looked around to see if Oracle uses these specific commands and I don’t see them (or any examples where they may be used). So my question is: Does Oracle (and TOAD) use these commands? If not, are their some equivalents? Could you give some examples of how these equivalents are used?

In advance, thanks for your help.

Don

Hi Donald - you’ve come to the right place! There is a Wiki Page here on Toad World that goes over just that. Take a look and let us know if you have any more questions.

Hi Donald.

Oracle does not use or have most of those. It does have commit to end a transaction.

A new transaction is started for you when you login. Another is started for you after you commit or rollback the current one.

Oracle will automatically commit - twice if all goes well - whenever you do some DDL such as create table, drop index etc. This causes your existing transaction to be committed and a new one started. Never mix DDL and DML.

Oracle also let's you write PL/SQL code that starts an autonomous transaction which can be committed or rolled back without affecting your current transaction.

There is error handling in SQL and PL/SQL.

HTH.

Cheers,

Norm [ TeamT ]

On 3 October 2015 08:05:08 BST, "donald.wilson" bounce-donaldwilson@toadworld.com wrote:

Equivalent commands for Oracle SQL

Thread created by donald.wilson
Hi group,

I'm taking a short intro course in SQL (yes, I'm kind of new to writing SQL commands). Today I'm learning about "Transaction Processing" (BEGIN TRANSACTION, SAVE TRANSACTION, IF @@ERROR, COMMIT TRANSACTION). The course suggests to check with the DBMS to see if it uses these commands.