Outer Join Suggestions

Hi Folks,

I am a Oracle PL/SQL developer and use TOAD everyday at work.
I have a question regarding a TOAD feature which might or might not be there.
Does TOAD have any feature which may suggest Outer Join automatically while joining the two tables which do not have all the matching key values for join columns ?
so that developers can have good control over the result set rather than discovering later that some of the records are missing or there is a mismatch.
I think this should save some time and gives surety towards the expected result set prediction for developers.
Sometimes it becomes difficult debugging the possible reason of data not being returned from a query with multiple tables in spite of almost being sure that the query should return rows and later finding out that one of the tables do not have the matching values for the join columns and there is Inner join on that.

–Unmesh

When writing your SQL in Editor you can use Code Insight (CTRL+T) to suggest join conditions. If there are explicit relationships between two tables using foreign key constraints then they will be suggested. If there are likely relationships between two tables then they will also be suggested. A relationship is determined to be likely if the field names and datatypes are the same in columns of two tables.

Example query...

SELECT *
  FROM user_tables ut LEFT OUTER JOIN 
       some_other_table ot ON

When Code Insight is invoked in the JOIN ON clause then you will see suggested conditions in addition to the columns of all tables involved.

Michael

Michael,

Thanks for the reply. I was looking for a auto-suggest on the JOIN itself, here in this case the [left outer join]

e.g.

Two tables A and B. I as a developer do not know whether all the values from A for a joined column exist in the table B. Hence I am unable to decide whether Inner join or Outer Join should work here.
If, based on the joining columns , i write following