Toad and Git for historical code changes

Hi,

This is my first post. I’m new to Toad and we currently don’t have any kind of versioning in place. I have suggested we use Git so was pleased to see that you have Git built in. Currently, it’s a very small team and we do a lot of testing in our testing server (in Toad) before deploying to our live sever through Toad. The only problem here is that we can’t track how the code has changed. Much as we’re sure that the new code works and does what it’s meant to be doing we have no way to track how the code has changed over time, which would be good to help identify how the business goals changed and things like that. What I was hoping to do was basically use Git through Toad as a way to track how our SQL code has changed, as it’s a very small team it’s highly unlikely we will both be working on the very same file at the same time, in fact we all have completely separate areas of focus. So would this be possible through Toad, I was hoping for basically Toad to just push a file every time it’s altered automatically, meaning that in 6 months time someone could come in and say “Oh, this was the code, but it changed on this date due to x,y,z” kind of thing. Is that possible?

Thanks

Hello,

You can use git to manage your files in Toad and can view and load different versions of files from within Toad. Toad works directly with your local Git Repository,
and adds all staged changes to Git, whenever you do a check in from Toad. So it is possible to keep a history, as you describe. Currently, Toad does not automatically sync from or push to the remote git repository. You need to do this from the command line,
or write a script to do it.

Please check out this blog on using Git with Toad.

http://www.toadworld.com/products/toad-for-oracle/b/weblog/archive/2014/05/20/using-git-version-control-system-in-toad.aspx

Stephen

Sent: Friday, July 04, 2014 8:12 AM

To: toadoracle@toadworld.com