Why are TOAD schema objects granted to PUBLIC and is it a security concern?

My security people audited my database and stated that all grants to PUBLIC or grants with the word ANY are a violation of policy.

Specifically, they identified the TOAD schema and the tables within it. They’re asking me if they can revoke all privs from PUBLIC,

create a role and grant the privs to the role. Can anyone tell me if doing the following will break features in Toad 12? I don’t

have the privs to execute these because I’m just a developer who uses Toad.

Also, if anyone could explain what these server side objects (TOAD schema) are used for, that would be great.

REVOKE SELECT ANY DICTIONARY FROM TOAD;
REVOKE DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_DATA_FILES FROM PUBLIC;
REVOKE DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_FILESTAT FROM PUBLIC;
REVOKE DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_FREE_SPACE FROM PUBLIC;
REVOKE DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_REF FROM PUBLIC;
REVOKE DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_TABLESPACES FROM PUBLIC;

CREATE ROLE TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT SELECT ON SYS.DBA_TRIGGERS TO TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT SELECT ON SYS.DBA_SOURCE TO TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_DATA_FILES TO TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_FILESTAT TO TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_FREE_SPACE TO TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_REF FROM TO TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT DELETE, INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE ON TOAD.TOAD_TABLESPACES TO TOAD_ROLE;
GRANT TOAD_ROLE TO TOAD;

Those tables are used to store tablespace usage history (from Toad’s main menu: Database -> Administer -> Tablespaces). If you don’t use this feature in Toad, you can drop those tables. I don’t view these as a security concern, but I’m not you. It’s your call if this is sensitive information or not.