Always a new window and focus problems!?!

Hello everybody,

Fist thing - sorry I’m new to SQL Navigator! But I’m doing better and better…

But still I have 2 problems with this windows application:

1. I assigned the .sql files to open with the SQL Navigator. But unfotunately - each times I open such a file - it opens also a new main SQL Navigator Window!! I just want to open it as a new “subwindow” in the existing main window. – Is there a preference somewhere? There is also no search function in the huge preference pane! :frowning:

2. Does SQL Navigator think it’s the most important app on the machine??? Because it wants to have the focus even if I click on another tab in the taskbar - I always have to click twice until SQL Navigator releases its focus…

So I hope someone can help me out with those problem - they aren’t really concerning SQL - just this Application - which is still better than the other one I used… (except for these frustrating problems above)

Thanks

By the way: I’m using Windows XP SP2 and SQL Navigator Release 5.5.4.847

Welcome to the community FiveO,

Absolutely no reason to apologize for being a new SQL Nav user… we hope you become an long term SQL Nav user!!
Thanks for giving SQL Nav a chance to prove itself.

1. We have had this behavior reported by a few people, but not too many.
    I have one WinXPSP2 machine that exhibits this behavior, it is an old GHOST image that I have had for years, that I use for SQL Nav testing.
    I have another two XPSP2 machines plus several VMWARE images that do not do this, they open all SQL files within the currently running session of SQL Nav (as they should).
    It appears to work correctly for all other members of the team (Team, please correct me if I’m wrong).
    Bottom line: We are aware that it happens on some machines, but cannot figure out why. It has to be environmental. But we’re still trying to figure it out!