We have a need to disable the session auto reconnect from our developers. This is controlled in the options but we need to prevent a user from enabling this feature. Nightly we terminate developer connections because we've had problems with open transactions blocking nightly processing.
There is no way to do that at the moment, but you may feel better knowing how auto-reconnect works.
If someone walks away from Toad and a disconnect occurs, the reconnect does not happen immediately.
Auto-reconnect only reconnects when connection is lost, and then someone does something in Toad to make it execute a SQL. It is only at that point when Toad realizes that the connection is lost, and only then does it attempt to reconnect. And when it does reconnect, it will not re-obtain any open transactions. Those are lost.
So if a user checks the Auto-reconnect if timeout or disconnect occurs option, you are saying that toad will not reconnect unless that user executes a statement?
That is exactly correct.
The only caveat that I want to add, is that there are some windows in Toad (such as Session Browser) that have an auto-refresh. So that auto-refresh would run a SQL, which, if the auto-reconnect option were enabled, would in turn cause a reconnect. But, whatever transaction that was in progress from the original session...that is still lost. There should be no locks if auto-refresh causes a reconnect.
Thanks for the information. I'll discuss it with our Management team and see if this fits into our requirements.
We use this user for testing the auto-reconnect feature. It's pretty handy. User is automatically disconnected after one minute. Give it a try if you want to do some testing.
CREATE PROFILE ONE_MINUTE_CONNECTED LIMIT
CREATE USER ONE_MINUTE_USER
DEFAULT TABLESPACE USERS
TEMPORARY TABLESPACE TEMP
GRANT CREATE SESSION to ONE_MINUTE_USER;