General Questions

Hello,

So I’m new to Toad and after having played around with a few of our datasets I’ve run into a couple questions that thus far I’ve been unable to find the answer.

1. Can grouped data only be created by sending your queried results into the Transform and Cleanse section of Toad Data Point? If there are alternate solutions please explain.

2. When the initial results populate from a query it seems to only display 1,000 even though there may be additional data. How do you set the default to display all of the data from a query?

3. Additionally, when you do have all the data displayed my experience thus far is when you send it to another function like transform and cleanse or data profiling it again only sends a smaller subsection of your results. Is there a way to change this default as well?

4. This last question I imagine is a little more in-depth but could someone please explain the process in order to query data that is partially made up of previously queried results? There was training on this subject from one of the TDP Dell employees, but they went through it too fast and I did not get a firm grasp on the process only that it somehow incorporates Toad View.

Thank you for your time and help.

Hi,

Here are the answers,

1. Yes, you need to form a query and get the results which you can send to Transform & Cleanse. You can use Query builder to build a query.

2. We have provided Transform & Cleanse options where you can set the result to work on "All Rows" as seen in the picture. Click on "Edit Sample" to change the options.

1. You are right. Currently when you send any data set to TnC it defaults to 1000 rows and we are considering an option to change it all rows or specific rows before sending to TnC. Unfortunately, this is still in discussion. You can always go back to TnC options and change the rows options for now.