Oracle Invalid Number Error when trying to use "Loop Dataset" in automation, after sorting and taking a subset of the initial query

Hello, I am relatively new to the world of SQL and Toad. I am trying to use TD Automation to loop over the rows of an initial query to create excel files for each sub-analysis.

For some background: I’m using Toad 3.6, Oracle DB.

My initial query looks at a large database of medical claim data, and sums up all of the bills for a given claim. To make it manageable I am trying to take the top XX most expensive claims:

SELECT * FROM
(SELECT JCN, SUM(TOT_CHARGE_PER_BILL) FROM
(SELECT JCN, TOT_CHARGE_PER_BILL FROM MED_BILLS WHERE TOT_CHARGE_PER_BILL < 50000)
GROUP BY JCN
ORDER BY SUM(TOT_CHARGE_PER_BILL) DESC)
WHERE ROWNUM <= 10

The output from this initial query is named TOP_CLAIMS_SQL in the automation setup. My goal is to look at the details for each claim number(JCN) within my subset.

I then followed the tutorials and used the “Select to File” to write the output. It seemed to mostly work(numbering was not making sense) but when I tried to use a JOIN to get some missing data(names):

SELECT a.JCN,b.FIRST_NAME, b.LAST_NAME FROM MED_BILLS a
JOIN PROVIDERS b on a.IDN=b.IDN
WHERE (a.JCN = :TOP_CLAIMS_SQL.JCN)

it now throws the following error:

File_1 - ORA-01722: invalid number

I’m wondering if perhaps I’m using the WHERE ROWNUM <=XX incorrectly(I’ve also tried changing the exact value for troubleshooting), or if the problem is elsewhere.

If I run this in the SQL editor and manually define the JCN e.g WHERE a.JCN = ‘number’ it works, but not in the Automation Tool.

Here is the entire error log:

12:02:54 PM Thread (23) Export Started [5/4/2017 12:02:54 PM]
12:02:54 PM Thread (23) Export using connection: ####(removed by me)
12:02:54 PM Thread (23) Export using connection: ####
12:02:54 PM Thread (23) Export Wizard: Building object list
12:02:54 PM Thread (23) Exporting Data (1 of 1)
12:02:54 PM Thread (23) Object SQL Query started.