PLEASE HELP! - Mapping Views

Hi Everyone,

I am new to toad as well as databases in general. I am currently trying to create a diagram of the views I frequently use. I need to able to see what views are available, what data they contain and how they are connected. This would go a long way in helping me understand where to I can go to get information and the best way to go about getting it.

I was able to create an ERD as well as a code road map which has gotten me about 95% of the way there, but I am stuck on the last part. The issue is that it isn’t specific enough as to what links the views together. It just shows that they are linked. Futher, this is taking me to the actual tables and how the view is linked to the table. I am just needing to access views.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hello there,

Just to make sure, you would like to know what exactly makes up a relationship between two views or a view and an entity? For example, something like a relationship between two entities which are linked by Primary Key and Foreign Key? Or do you have something else in mind?

I am also not sure what do you mean by needing to access views. Could you perhaps rephrase that?

Regards,

Lukas

Thank you for the response!

I would like to know the relationship between two or more views.

Essentially all of my work is done with about 100 views that have been created by other people. I am frequently running into issues with my queries duplicating / not grabbing neccessary data when I join two or more views together. I want to better understand what I should be joining on. Since there are so many views going through them one at a time to see the relationships between them would take a lot of time. I am trying to get toad to create a map to basically show all the ways that View #1 is related to View #2, etc.