Script for data export

Hi,

I’m new in toad and do not know, how can I export tables (ddl + data + triggers), stored procedures (ddl), db links, packages, … into flat files without using ‘create script’ for each object type.

Is it possible to store my settings for each export (selected objects, target file, alle settings I do using GUI) in a a file, load this file in editor and run it?

We are using Toad 12.5.1.1.

Thanks in advance,

Reza

Hi Reza,

Database->Export->Export DDL.

On the Objects/Owner’s tab:

Click ‘Add’ button.

Uncheck “Close on rows loaded”.

Select tables from the drop down.

Click ‘Load Rows’ button.

Repeat for Packages, procedures, functions, etc etc etc.

Click ‘Close’ button when done.

Check the list of objects and untick anything you don’t want including.

In the “output” area at the bottom, pick your desired options, output filename etc.

On the “Script Options” tab:

Go through the Common, Storage Objects, Roles sub tabs and choose your desired options.

On the Tables sub-tab, check the option for ‘Insert Statements’ and uncheck the two warnings, if desired.

Click the Green “>” button above the dialogue’s tab bar. That will do the export for you.

Now, saving your settings is a little more complicated.

At the bottom of the screen is a pair of buttons, one to create a snapshot (looks like a camera) and one next to it to "schedule action. Click on that one.

For the app, call it something like ‘AppExportStuff’ (or be more meaningful!) and for the name use something like ‘Export Stuff’. This is the name that you will see in the Automation Manager later.

On the next dialogue, there’s another name required, use the App name form the previous screen, AppExportStuff for example. Give a decent description of the task’s purpose. Click ‘Next’.

Click ‘Next’ again.

On the screen to “specify conditions to trigger task”, click ‘New’ and select ‘at task creation/modification’ from the drop down. Click ‘Ok’. Click ‘Next’.