Functions and Procedure shortcuts in workspaces?

Hi There. I’m using TDM 3.4 and I’m just getting into using workspaces.

We have a large model that we need to split into 2 physical databases when we instantiate the object in the RDMS. I want to keep the objects in the same TDM file because some entities are shared between the two. It works great, except I can’t figure out how to, when generating the DDL, have some procedures and function created only. I.E. when creating the DDL for one workspace, only script functions X, Y and Z, and when I create the DDL for another workspace, script the function A, B, C and X.

Basically, I need shortcuts to functions and procedure contained in the workspaces, just like Entities, Relationships and Views. Is there a way to do this in version 3.4? Is it planned for a future version? Thx.

Message was edited by: jason_812

Quick update… a “bug” I just noticed. Even though only one of my views is shown in a workspace, the generate DDL generates the script for all the views!

So all the workspaces really do, is filter the entities. The relations are not scripted only the parent and child are also scripted.

Hello Jason,

Thanks for your question.

In current TDM you can generate only tables by workspaces - see the DDL Script Generation dialog | Entity List | Workspaces box.

Views, functions, procedures, relationships etc. cannot be generated by WS. For functions and procedures it is because they have not graphical representatives on particular WS but objects of the model. In any case, better selection of objects for DDL script generation improvements are planned (CR 36 513). Unfortunately, it is not planned in the near future. I’m sorry.

Other options in current TDM:

• In the Properties dialog of particular object it is possible to clear the Generate checkbox not to generate the object in DDL script.