Toad World® Forums

More options on Version Manager


#1

Hi

I am wondering, if it is possible to save a local/ temperory copy of the Model then we could “CheckIn” the model Later? At the moment, when you are working on the Version Controlled model, it did not provide a save button for you, When you close the model, It will allow you to save it. I think it would be better to provide a save button to save the model, just in case of computer crash, you may lose the changes you made.

I am wondering if it is possble to have a extra button “Save button” to just save the model locally, At the moment it has a button called, “Save Version to Location” i think it would be good to have allow the save overwritten the original file, in which, the model can called the model name, instead of model name + the version information. From my point of view, I would like to send the model just call the “name of the model” instead of "Name + version information E.g. chi_ID4-6-2007_16-59-34.txp …etc I would like to call it chi.txp, at the moment if I want to do that, I need to remove the version information manually. I would be grateful to provide extra feature to allow user to choose what they prefer.

I.E. (You may want to play around the model to test out something, Once it work, then you may want to overwritten the current model on Version Control Manager, if the model is not right, you want to undo all the changes you made to start again, E.g. Undo checkout to overwritten the saved model.

Also another Button called “Undo Checkout” or “Checkout” would make life easier, instead of clicking “CheckIN” and Don’t save, we could just click on a undo checkout button to do “CheckIn & Don’t Save + Checkout the latest model” as well.

Please let me know if you want me to explain more.

Many thanks

Chi


#2

Hello Chi,

I am wondering, if it is possible to save a local/ temperory copy of the Model then we could “CheckIn” the model Later? At the moment, when you are working on the Version Controlled model, it did not provide a save button for you, When you close the model, It will allow you to save it. I think it would be better to provide a save button to save the model, just in case of computer crash, you may lose the changes you made.

At the moment, the Save option is available in the form of Check In. If you like to save the changes frequently (just in case of computer crash), simply click the Check In button and select “Overwrite Actual Version” with cleared “Finish Work on Model” checkbox.

More on the Save option is disscussed at:
http://modeling.inside.quest.com/thread.jspa?threadID=3144&tstart=0

…you may want to overwritten the current model on Version Control Manager, if the model is not right.
TDM doesn’t allow you to overwrite already checked in version. See the reason explained at:
http://modeling.inside.quest.com/thread.jspa?threadID=3144&tstart=0

You can create a new version/revision with the right data. (And remove the unnecessary version/revision then.)

Also another Button called “Undo Checkout” or “Checkout” would make life easier, instead of clicking “CheckIN” and Don’t save.
Thanks. We will consider this suggestion. CR # 34 452.

Regards,

Vladka