Scheduled Tasks

Hello All I am new at using Toad for Data Analysts and I have create a script that imports data into my Oracle database from an excel file. It works when I run it manually. I attempted to schedule it through the job manager. The program does create a scheduled task for me. When I run the task it says it runs successfully however, the data does not get imported into the database. I don’t see any errors and I am not sure if I am missing something or what the problem would be. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I suggest doing the following:

1. Using the Script Settings turn the logging level to verbose. We need to get details of what is happening when running from the scheduler.
  2. Then set up the exception handler to send you an email when there is an error. By default this is turned off. Fill in the email information and choose to attach the log file.
  3. Add sending yourself an email when the script successfully completes. Add the log file to the email.

If the log file doesn’t make the issue obvious send me a copy of the log and I will take a look at it.

Debbie

It appears that I am having a connection problem. Here is what the log file says:

– 2/2/2010 1:55:05 PM: test connection.log: Build started-- 2/2/2010 1:55:08 PM: test connection.log: Warning: No Exception Handler. To send an Email when there is an error, change the value of Email on Error to true and enter email values.-- 2/2/2010 1:55:08 PM: test connection.log: Build Completed-- 2/2/2010 1:55:08 PM: test connection.log: Connecting to CA (VIGILE), VIGILE-- 2/2/2010 1:55:10 PM: test connection.log: Connection failed.
– 2/2/2010 1:55:10 PM: test connection.log: Done

I have selected the “save password” and “connect on startup” options but this did not resolve the problem.

Any ideas?

Try the following:

1. Create a new connection to the database you want. Choose Save Password and connect.
  2. Open up your Automation script and double click on the new connection that is connected.