Brand New! Save The Pivot Grid! Tutorial Mentions .tpg

Hey Everyone! I am BRAND NEW to ALL THINGS TOAD, and I have just taught myself how to build a Pivot Grid THREE TIMES.... every time I save it, and go back into Toad later, I see that it has only save the SQL statement. So I have to rebuild the Pivot Grid again... which is PAINFUL, because of several aspects that do not seem to be as intuitive as an Excel Pivot, i.e. ranking the rows in DESCENDING order according to the count, and sorting the columns in reverse chronological order... so when I finally get it back into shape, I want to SAVE this thing... Robert Pound's tutorial shows to save it as a ".tpg" or "pivot grid" file, however that is not a choice in the dropdown when saving. Can anyone help me? Thanks! Below is a shot of what I did (before LOL) and am trying to build again...

John

If you press Save on the top left tool bar and give it a name it will naturally save as name.tpg file and save your pivot options. It will also ask if you want to save the rows so you don’t have to execute the query the next time you open. This part being an option. It doesn’t make sense what you describe.

here are some questions we might need asked to detangle this.

What version of TDP are you using?

What connection type are you using?

What are the steps you are using to save?

Please attach a sample pivot file so I can take a look at the file.

Hi Debbie, thanks for writing back… I also emailed you directly with a screen shot of the pivot grid that I had created previously…

What version of TDP are you using? Toad Data Point 4.0.1.775

What connection type are you using? Teradata