Exporting Numeric Data into excel is converting to Text

Hi,

i am new to TOAD. I am facing an issue. I am exporting the data for query into excel which includes some numeric value but when I check in excel it is converted to text. I checked the column type and they are VarChar. Is there any way to store them as Number in excel while exporting?

Thanks,

Hi,

Make SQL based export. Example (simple one but enough to understand):
10:04:05 SQL>select to_number (‘1.1’) from dual;

TO_NUMBER(‘1.1’)

Elapsed: 00:00:00.03

In a case of custom decimal point …error like:
10:04:19 SQL>select to_number (‘1,1’) from dual;
select to_number (‘1,1’) from dual
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-01722: invalid number

Elapsed: 00:00:00.06

Use this trick:
10:04:22 SQL>alter session set NLS_NUMERIC_CHARACTERS = ‘,.’;

Session altered.

Elapsed: 00:00:00.01
10:05:14 SQL>select to_number (‘1,1’) from dual;

TO_NUMBER(‘1,1’)

Elapsed: 00:00:00.03
10:05:16 SQL>

In that way Toad is smart enough to export properly types…

If this doesn’t help, then your problem is connected with your local settings in Windows (and Excel is following it).
For that do not know the cure.

Brg

Damir

Toad exports with the datatype in the query. so if you were exporting the following select

select 1.23,‘4.56’ from dual;

The first column would be saved as numeric with the value of 1.23, the second column would store the string ‘4.56’ and would be formatted as a text string. Look at your select and determine the datatype of the column.

Are you running a query in Toad with F5 and then exporting the grid created from that? F5 runs as script, so we show data as text, like SQL*Plus), and then we process it after that.

Run your query with F9 instead and datatypes will be retained.