Issue Installing Toad For Oracle

I’m getting messages during installation that I am not able to access certain folders. I am an Administrator on my machine and have the ability to save to the specified locations - so I’m unsure as to what might be the issue.

Attempted using the .exe and .msi installs. Both cases does not allow access to create/access files.

Toad Message after .exe install.
Toad has encountered an unexpected error.
Details: Cannot create file “C:\Users<user>\AppData\Roaming\Dell\Toad for Oracle\SettingsLocations.ini”. Access is denied.

Are you sure this happens on installation and not on Toad launch? Installation only writes installer files to program files. When Toad is launched, it has to access (or create) SettingsLocations.ini in your app data folder. Can you browse to that folder using windows explorer and create a file manually? App Data\Roaming is a standard location for applications to write user files to disk and should be accessible for admin and standard users.

Sent: Wednesday, September 30, 2015 8:35 PM

To: toadoracle@toadworld.com

Subject: [Toad for Oracle - Discussion Forum] Issue Installing Toad For Oracle

Issue Installing Toad For Oracle

Thread created by fongrj

I’m getting messages during installation that I am not able to access certain folders. I am an Administrator on my machine and have the ability to save to the specified locations - so I’m unsure as to what might be the issue.

Attempted using the .exe and .msi installs. Both cases does not allow access to create/access files.

Toad Message after .exe install.

Details: Cannot create file “C:\Users<user>\AppData\Roaming\Dell\Toad for Oracle\SettingsLocations.ini”. Access is denied.

To reply, please reply-all to this email.

Stop receiving emails on this subject.

Or
Unsubscribe from Toad for Oracle - General
notifications altogether.

Toad for Oracle - Discussion Forum

Flag
this post as spam/abuse.