Toad World® Forums

Version Manager improvements


#1

Hi,

  1. The “Description” is the “Notes” tab in the properties dialog.
  2. If you add a model to version manager from Application view there is no opportunity to add a Description.
  3. I’d like to be able to edit “Description” from the Properties dialog to add further notes.
  4. I’d like to be able to lock a version for no further edits. At the moment it seems a lock can be easily removed by anyone.
    Thanks
    Malcolm

#2
  1. Indeed, the Notes tab for File Versions appears differently…

  2. That’s right…

  3. Your only chance to define a Description for versions is via Check-In operation.

  4. At the moment it seems a lock can be easily removed by anyone.
    It can only be removed with Operating System function “Set read-only” attribute for the file outside the Version Manager. Otherwise you can only unlock files that you self have locked inside the Version Manager.
    Perhaps I have overlooked something… how do you remove some one other’s lock?


#3

Malcolm,

Thanks very much for your tips on how to improve Version Manager.

  1. Thanks for your notification! This is a bug. Instead of Notes in the properties dialog, Descriptions should be. We will fix it. CR # 43 817.

  2. Opportunity to add description on model entered to VM. - CR # 43 818.

  3. Possibility to edit Descriptions in the Properties dialog. - CR # 43 819.

Malcolm, thanks very much for your suggestions. Your co-operation is greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Vladka


#4

Hi Fero,
we do seem to be able to overwrite locks. I’ll do a bit more investigation and let you know the outcome.
Malcolm


#5

Thanks Vladka


#6

I’ve done some tests with locking.

I think these issues may be because the actual user is not used at the moment.

Scenario1:
User A opens TDM and lockas a version (blue padlock).
User B opens TDM and sees version locked with blue padlock.

Scenario2:
User A opens TDM, User B opens TDM.
User A locks a version (blue padlock).
User B refreshes VM (close/open VM dialog) sees yellow padlock.
User B selects Unlock version. Version is unlocked and can be checked out for editing.

Also:
User A opens TDM, User B opens TDM.
User A creates a new revision of a file (this can be sen in projects.xml).
User A closes TDM (projects.xml is updated again).
User B closes TDM (projects.xml is updated again WITHOUT the new revision).
User A opens TDM - the new revision is missing and has to be recovered from the OS file.

Regards
Malcolm


#7

Malcolm, thanks for the detailed info.

We’ll check it out and get back to you.

Thanks!

Vladka


#8

Hi Vladka,

Here’s one I think I forgot to mention.

To perform the earlier tests I installed TDM on a PC next to my desk.

I set up the VM paths to point to the projects I’m using for testing.
VM did not see any projects.
Refreshed VM by close/open VM dialog a couple of times
Still no projects visible.
Closed TDM - at this point the projects.xml file was overwritten with no projects
Opened TDM - no projects.
Closed TDM
Went back to my PC, opened my TDM, recreated the projects from the individual files, closed my TDM.
Opened TDM on other PC - projects now found.

I seems that VM doesn’t see the files in the new location until TDM is restarted BUT when TDM is closed it writes the empty projects file back to the new location overwriting the real projects file.

Please investigate and fix.

Regards
Malcolm


#9

O.K. Thanks. We’ll try to reproduce it.

I’ll write as soon as I have some results.

Thanks.

Regards,

Vladka


#10

Hello Malcolm,

Thanks for all your remarks on the Version Manager. Our tester have gone through all of them. You’ve helped us to find other bugs that need to be fixed. Thanks a lot for your great co-operation!

  1. Lock problem (Scenario 1) - CR # 43 961.
  2. Project.XML file update problem - CR # 43 962.

I seems that VM doesn’t see the files in the new location until TDM is restarted BUT when TDM is closed it writes the empty projects file back to the new location overwriting the real projects file.

  • relates to problem 2.

I set up the VM paths to point to the projects I’m using for testing.VM did not see any projects. Refreshed VM by close/open VM dialog a couple of times. Still no projects visible.
Generally, the projects have to be created in Version Manager itself. Just to define path to projects in Options is not enough.

Malcolm, thanks again for your assistance!

Regards,

Vladka + TDM Team


#11

Hi Vladka,

Just to clarify the following

I set up the VM paths to point to theprojects I’m using for testing.VM did not see any projects. RefreshedVM by close/open VM dialog a couple of times. Still no projectsvisible.
Generally, the projects have to be created in Version Manager itself. Just to define path to projects in Options is not enough.

The scenario I was referring to was;

  • User A on PC1 had created the projects and versions of models in a shared area.
  • I was trying to set TDM for User B on PC2 to use the same projects and models.

I expected that pointing VM paths in TDM on PC2 to the shared area would be sufficient. Apart from the initial overwriting of the Projects file, this does set VM up to access the shared projects in the way we want to.

Regards
Malcolm


#12

Malcolm,
Thanks for the further clarification. Now it’s absolutely clear. CR # 43 962. We will fix it.

Thanks!

Vladka + TDM Team